Ohio State Playoff History: Wins, National Championship Appearances, and More

How many times have the Ohio State Buckeyes won the national championship, what historic claim do they own, and what is their overall playoff history?

Buckeye fans need little introduction to Ohio State’s playoff history, as they know what it feels like to play the role of villain as well as win it all. Just how many times have the Buckeyes made the College Football Playoff, and what historical significance do they have over the playoffs as a whole?

Ohio State Playoff Appearances and Results by Year

  • 2014-15
    • Sugar Bowl – Won 42-35 vs. Alabama
    • National Championship – Won 42-20 vs. Oregon
  • 2016-17
    • Fiesta Bowl – Lost 31-0 vs. Clemson
  • 2019-20
    • Fiesta Bowl – Lost 29-23 vs. Clemson
  • 2020-21
    • Sugar Bowl – Won 49-29 vs. Clemson
    • National Championship – Lost 52-24 vs. Alabama
  • 2022-23
    • Peach Bowl vs. Georgia

With their entrance into the 2022-23 College Football Playoff, Ohio State has made the postseason tournament five times. Those five appearances are third-most among FBS teams, trailing only Clemson (6) and Alabama (7), both of whom did not make the 2022-23 installment.

MORE: Who Won the 2015 College Football National Championship?

Ohio State has made the national championship twice through the playoffs, splitting their appearances with a commanding victory over Oregon in 2015 and a disappointing showing against Alabama in 2021.

To their credit, however, the Buckeyes are the very first champions of the College Football Playoffs, being crowned the first-ever national champions that had to play through a postseason tournament. Ohio State did so, of course, with third-string QB Cardale Jones leading the Buckeyes to a title win over Marcus Mariota and Oregon.

Ohio State Playoff History FAQ

What’s Ohio State’s Playoff Win/Loss Record?

The Buckeyes won their first two playoff appearances, culminating with their national title in 2015, but it’s been an even split ever since. In total, Ohio State has a 3-3 record in the College Football Playoffs.

The Buckeyes have played three different teams in the playoffs, having split their matchups with Alabama (1-1) while they’ve dropped to 1-2 against Clemson. The Buckeyes are 1-0 against other opponents, but that will certainly be tested against No. 1 seed Georgia in 2022.

How Many Times Has Ohio State Been to the College Football Playoff?

The Buckeyes made history by winning the first-ever College Football Playoff National Championship and have entered the playoffs on five total occasions. Their five appearances are third most by any one team and trail just Alabama and Clemson.

How Many National Championship Appearances Do the Buckeyes Have?

Ohio State is one of just four programs to reach the national championship through the playoffs on multiple occasions. In total, the Buckeyes have made the national title game in two seasons, splitting their appearances evenly with a win over Oregon and a loss to Alabama.

How Many National Championships Have the Buckeyes Won?

The Buckeyes have the rightful claim to multiple national titles. Dating back as far as the poll era, Ohio State claims eight national championships.

Through the College Football Playoff, however, the Buckeyes have won one national championship and are one of just five different programs to win it all in the CFP era.

When Was the Last Time the Buckeyes Made the National Championship Game?

Ohio State most recently made the national championship during the 2020-21 season, dropping their matchup to No. 1 seed Alabama, 52-24. The Buckeyes last won the national championship in 2014-15 by defeating Oregon, 42-20.