LSU QB Jayden Daniels Wins 2023 Heisman Trophy

    LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels has been announced as the 2023 Heisman Trophy winner at the annual ceremony in New York.

    LSU Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels has won the 2023 Heisman Trophy, receiving the award at the annual Heisman Trophy Ceremony presented by Nissan on Saturday night. Daniels beat out fellow finalists Bo Nix, Michael Penix Jr., and Marvin Harrison Jr. to become the 89th recipient of the award.

    LSU QB Jayden Daniels Wins 2023 Heisman Trophy

    Unlike two of his fellow contenders, LSU quarterback Daniels hadn’t led his team to a conference championship game appearance in the 2023 college football season. That ultimately didn’t matter, as the dynamic and dangerous dual-threat was named the 89th Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday.

    Emerging as a significant favorite for the award as the Heisman Trophy Ceremony neared, it shouldn’t have come as a surprise to see the LSU quarterback lift the award for the most outstanding player in college football in New York. However, he had to overcome historical precedent to hear his name called.

    Daniels becomes the first player to win the Heisman Trophy without playing in a conference championship game since 2016. Furthermore, the LSU standout ensures that fellow finalist Penix Jr. is only the third Maxwell Award winner in the last 10 years who didn’t go on to win the Heisman Trophy.

    Daniels is in good company in breaking the cycle of team success bias in favor of recognizing the true best player in the sport. It was Louisville sensation Lamar Jackson who last won the Heisman Trophy without playing on a team that competed in a conference championship game, and the LSU QB showcased an equally explosive skillset as the Cardinals quarterback this year.

    No quarterback had more passing touchdowns, yards per pass attempts, or 20+ yard passes in 2023. Meanwhile, Daniels led all quarterbacks in rushing yards and no other player in the country had more 20+ yard rushing plays. Battling injury and inconsistency from his team, the LSU quarterback meets the Heisman Trophy remit in its entirety.

    Final 2023 Heisman Trophy Votes

    1. Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU
    2. Michael Penix Jr, QB, Washington
    3. Bo Nix, QB, Oregon
    4. Marvin Harrison Jr., WR, Ohio State
    5. Jordan Travis, QB, Florida State
    6. Jalen Milroe, RB, Alabama
    7. Ollie Gordon II, RB, Oklahoma State
    8. Cody Schrader, RB, Missouri
    9. Blake Corum, RB, Michigan
    10. J.J. McCarthy, QB, Michigan

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles