Which College Football Teams Are Bowl Eligible?

    With the 2023 regular season complete, who are the bowl eligible college football teams heading to the postseason?

    Bowl eligibility is the first goal of all 133 college football programs at the beginning of the season. Six wins is a magical marker, and for some programs the minimum expectation. With Week 13 in the books, who are the bowl eligible teams at the end of the 2023 college football season?

    Which College Football Teams Are Bowl Eligible?

    Below is a list of bowl eligible college football teams. To be bowl eligible, a team must win six games on the year or have a record of .500 and above. Additionally, those six wins must only contain one win against a non-FBS opponent.

    MORE: 2023 College Football Bowl Projections

    A total of 82 teams are required to fill the college football bowl schedule. Should there not be enough six-win teams, teams with a winning record below .500 or with multiple FCS wins may be considered. Additionally, James Madison and Jacksonville State will become bowl eligible despite archaic FCS transition regulations in the event of their being insufficient eligible teams.

    American Athletic Conference

    • Tulane Green Wave
    • SMU Mustangs
    • Memphis Tigers
    • UTSA Roadrunners
    • Rice Owls
    • South Florida Bulls

    Atlantic Coast Conference

    • Florida State Seminoles
    • North Carolina Tar Heels
    • Louisville Cardinals
    • Miami Hurricanes
    • Duke Blue Devils
    • Boston College Eagles
    • North Carolina State Wolfpack
    • Clemson Tigers
    • Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
    • Syracuse Orange
    • Virginia Tech Hokies

    Big Ten Conference

    • Michigan Wolverines
    • Ohio State Buckeyes
    • Penn State Nittany Lions
    • Iowa Hawkeyes
    • Rutgers Scarlet Knights
    • Maryland Terrapins
    • Northwestern Wildcats
    • Wisconsin Badgers
    • Minnesota Golden Gophers (best 5-7 team)

    Big 12 Conference

    • Oklahoma Sooners
    • Texas Longhorns
    • Kansas State Wildcats
    • Kansas Jayhawks
    • West Virginia Mountaineers
    • Oklahoma State Cowboys
    • Iowa State Cyclones
    • Texas Tech Red Raiders
    • UCF Knights

    Conference USA

    • Liberty Flames
    • New Mexico State Aggies
    • Western Kentucky Hilltoppers
    • Jacksonville State Gamecocks (eligibility waiver)

    FBS Independents

    • Notre Dame Fighting Irish

    Mid-American Conference

    • Miami (OH) RedHawks
    • Toledo Rockets
    • Ohio Bobcats
    • Bowling Green Falcons
    • Eastern Michigan Eagles
    • Northern Illinois Huskies

    Mountain West Conference

    • Air Force Falcons
    • Fresno State Bulldogs
    • UNLV Rebels
    • Wyoming Cowboys
    • San Jose State Spartans
    • Boise State Broncos
    • Utah State Aggies

    Pac-12 Conference

    • USC Trojans
    • Washington Huskies
    • Washington State Cougars
    • Oregon Ducks
    • Utah Utes
    • UCLA Bruins
    • Arizona Wildcats

    Southeastern Conference

    • Georgia Bulldogs
    • Missouri Tigers
    • Alabama Crimson Tide
    • Ole Miss Rebels
    • LSU Rebels
    • Tennessee Volunteers
    • Kentucky Wildcats
    • Auburn Tigers
    • Texas A&M Aggies

    Sun Belt Conference

    • Georgia State Panthers
    • Georgia Southern Eagles
    • Troy Trojans
    • Coastal Carolina
    • Texas State Bobcats
    • Appalachian State Mountaineers
    • Arkansas State Red Wolves
    • South Alabama Jaguars
    • Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns
    • Old Dominion Monarchs
    • Marshall Thundering Herd
    • James Madison Dukes (eligibility waiver)

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles