2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class: Randy Moss, Alex Smith and Michael Vick Among Inductees

    The 2024 College Football Hall of Fame class will be revealed on Monday Night. Who do we already know will be inducted and how were they told?

    The 2024 College Football Hall of Fame class has been unveiled, with 19 players and 3 legendary coaches being inducted.

    The full 2024 class has now been released and includes some elite former college players and coaches. However, the most high-profile announcement came on ESPN for two of the inductees when they appeared in the build-up to Week 18 of the NFL season.

    Who Is Entering the College Football Hall of Fame?

    Ahead of the 2024 National Championship Game, the National Football Federation and College Football Hall of Fame announced the full list.

    The class will be inducted on Dec. 10, 2024, at the 66th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in Las Vegas.

    MORE: 2023 All-Bowl Season College Football Team

    The class was decided by a national ballot “of 78 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 32 coaches from the divisional ranks.”

    However, before the official announcement on Monday, we already knew some of the high-profile names that would be on the list.

    Brett McMurphy from Actions News reported three names ahead of the official announcement. McMurphy said, “Virginia Tech quarterback Michael Vick, former Oklahoma defensive lineman Dewey Selmon, and former Nebraska and Ohio coach Frank Solich have been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2024.”

    Vick is one of the highest-profile names on the 2024 list. The exhilarating playmaker is a household name across the country as a dual-threat player for the Hokies and in the NFL.

    Selmon is also on the official list. The former Oklahoma defensive lineman had a tenacious partnership with his brothers Lucious and Lee Roy. The Selmon brothers are honored so much in Norman that there is a statue of the three of them on campus.

    Two other household names who we knew for sure would be entering the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame were unveiled live on ESPN on Sunday.

    Randy Moss and Alex Smith Told Live on ESPN

    Legendary players Randy Moss and Alex Smith are going to the College Football Hall of Fame which was surprisingly announced on Sunday.

    The announcement that Moss and Smith will be entering the Hall of Fame came as a shock to both when they were surprised on ESPN Sunday Countdown.

    Both were appearing as Analysts on ESPN’s NFL build-up show when the presenter Samantha Ponder said, “We have a little announcement of our own.” With Moss, Smith, and fellow analyst Tedy Bruschi standing beside her, Ponder announced, “It is my absolute honor to let our friend Randy Eugene Moss know he is this year’s inductee to the College Football Hall of Fame.”

    Moss was thrilled saying, “No way! Let’s go!”

    Then came Smith’s turn, with the surprise for the former Utah QB turned up a notch.

    MORE: 2024 Transfer Portal Team Rankings

    “I just couldn’t help but think about Alex. Because I watched Alex in college, and this guy had one of the most legendary college careers ever. The man went 21-1 for the Utes, and apparently, I’m not the only one feeling that way, because this guy, Alex Smith, is going into the College Football Hall of Fame! It’s a two-for-one! Congratulations.”

    Full List of Inductees to the College Football Hall of Fame


    • Justin Blackmon – WR, Oklahoma State (2009-11)
    • Paul Cameron – TB, UCLA (1951-53)
    • Tim Couch – QB, Kentucky (1996-98)
    • Warrick Dunn – RB, Florida State (1993-96)
    • Armanti Edwards – QB, Appalachian State (2006-09)
    • Deon Figures – CB, Colorado (1988, 1990-92)
    • Larry Fitzgerald – WR, Pittsburgh (2002-03)
    • Toby Gerhart – RB, Stanford (2006-09)
    • Dan Hampton – DT, Arkansas (1975-78)
    • Steve Hutchinson – OG, Michigan (1997-2000)
    • Antonio Langham – CB, Alabama (1990-93)
    • Randy Moss – WR, Marshall (1996-97)
    • Julius Peppers – DE, North Carolina (1999-2001)
    • Paul Posluszny – LB, Penn State (2003-06)
    • Dewey Selmon – NG, Oklahoma (1972-75)
    • Alex Smith – QB, Utah (2002-04)
    • Kevin Smith – CB, Texas A&M (1988-91)
    • Chris Ward – OT, Ohio State (1974-77)
    • Danny Woodhead – RB, Chadron State [NE] (2004-07)


    • Mark Dantonio – Cincinnati (2004-06), Michigan State (2007-19)
    • Danny Hale –  West Chester [PA] (1984-88), Bloomsburg [PA] (1993-2012)
    • Frank Solich –  Nebraska (1998-2003), Ohio (2005-2020)

    Miss any action from the top college QB Rankings during the 2023 football season? Want to track all the movement with the college football’s transfer portal? College Football Network has you covered with that and more!

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles