Did Washington QB Michael Penix Jr. Win the 2023 Heisman Trophy?

    Did Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr. win the 2023 Heisman Trophy winner at the annual ceremony in New York?

    Did Washington Huskies quarterback Michael Penix Jr. win the 2023 Heisman Trophy? One of four finalists for the award for the most outstanding player in college football, Penix lost out to LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels at the Heisman Trophy Ceremony.

    Did Washington QB Michael Penix Jr. Win the 2023 Heisman Trophy?

    Despite guiding Washington to a Pac-12 title and a berth in the College Football Playoff for the first time since the 2016 college football season, quarterback Penix did not win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York.

    A favorite to win the Heisman Trophy at multiple points of this season, Penix overcame some midseason maladies to finish second in the voting for the award for college football’s most outstanding player. He did, however, win the Maxwell Award on Friday night.

    In addition to leading Washington to incredible accomplishments — the Huskies hadn’t won the Pac-12 since the 2018 season prior to this year — Penix has been a statistical standout during the 2023 college football season.

    The quarterback of one of the top offenses in the nation, he leads college football with 324.5 passing yards per game, and 4,218 passing yards while averaging 9.1 yards per pass attempt and throwing 33 passing touchdowns.

    After spending his early career plagued by injury at Indiana, Penix has blossomed into one of the most devastating downfield passers in the nation. He holds multiple program records for Washington, adding the single-game touchdown record to his résumé during this 2023 season.

    MORE: LSU QB Jayden Daniels Wins the 2023 Heisman Trophy

    Penix will leave for the 2024 NFL Draft at the end of the season, but will do so having established himself amongst the greats of the program. The Huskies quarterback has secured his legacy in Seattle, despite the result on Saturday night.

    Final 2023 Heisman Trophy Votes

    1. Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU
    2. Michael Penix Jr., QB, Washington
    3. Bo Nix, QB, Oregon
    4. Marvin Harrison Jr., WR, Ohio State
    5. Jordan Travis, QB, Florida State
    6. Jalen Milroe, RB, Alabama
    7. Ollie Gordon II, RB, Oklahoma State
    8. Cody Schrader, RB, Missouri
    9. Blake Corum, RB, Michigan
    10. J.J. McCarthy, QB, Michigan

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles