Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists: Travis Hunter, Kool-Aid McKinstry Headline

    The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists have been announced and one of these 15 athletes will bring home the defensive backfield's top honor in 2023.

    The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association have officially announced the semifinalists for the 2023 Jim Thorpe Award. It’s a star-studded group of defensive backs all vying for the top award in the secondary from the 2023 college season.

    Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists

    The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Award Association collectively hand out the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award annually, and it’s now known that it will come from one of the following 15 athletes.

    MORE: List of Jim Thorpe Award Winners

    The semifinalists for the 2023 Jim Thorpe Award are:

    • Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri
    • Jahdae Barron, Texas
    • Cole Bishop, Utah
    • Denzel Burke, Ohio State
    • Cooper DeJean, Iowa
    • Renardo Green, Florida State
    • Travis Hunter, Colorado
    • Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama
    • Benjamin Morrison, Notre Dame
    • Jakob Robinson, BYU
    • Willie Roberts, Louisiana Tech
    • Jaylin Simpson, Auburn
    • Malaki Starks, Georgia
    • TJ Tampa, Iowa State
    • Trey Taylor, Air Force

    The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Committee will meet once again following the action on Thanksgiving weekend and will select three finalists. Those award finalists will be announced on Tuesday, November 28, on ESPN.

    The award will be given out to one of the three finalists as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, also on ESPN, in December.

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles