College Football Playoff Board Revises Playoff Format

    Following the most recent round of college football realignment, the College Football Playoff has made adjustments to the new 12-team format.

    The Board of Managers for the College Football Playoff has adjusted the playoff format. They have voted on and passed that the 12-team playoff will have the five highest-ranked conference champions followed by the seven highest-ranked teams determined by the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.

    New College Football Playoff Format Formalized

    When it was originally announced that the College Football Playoff would increase from four teams to 12, the format was going to be the six highest-ranked conference champions and the six highest-ranked teams.

    This now changes to just five conference champions followed by seven of the highest-ranked teams. One key note is that no conference will automatically qualify for the playoffs and there isn’t a limit on the number of teams from one conference.

    “This is a very logical adjustment for the College Football Playoff based on the evolution of our conference structures since the board first adopted this new format in September 2022,” Dr. Mark Keenum, President of Mississippi State and Chair of the CFP Board of Managers said in a statement Tuesday.

    “I know this change will also be well received by student-athletes, coaches, and fans. We all will be pleased to see this new format come to life on the field this postseason.”

    The College Football Playoff will now have the following schedule for the 2024 season:

    • First Round: December 20 and 21
    • Quarterfinals: December 31 and January 1
    • Semifinals: January 9 and 10
    • College Football Playoff National Championship: January 20

    The top four highest-ranked conference champions will have a first-round bye. The other seven teams will be ranked five through 12 and play each other, with the higher-ranked team hosting the playoff game. This includes five against 12, six against 11, seven against 10, and eight against nine.

    The quarterfinals and semifinals will be part of the New Year’s Six bowl games, which remain as neutral site games. The College Football National Championship will also be a neutral site event.

    This is the first season that FBS will have a 12-team playoff after hosting a four-team College Football Playoff since 2014.

    Miss any action from the top college QB Rankings during the 2023 football season? Want to track all the movement with the college football transfer portal? College Football Network has you covered with that and more!

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles