The Broyles Award Announces 2023 Nominees for Best Assistant Coach in College Football

    The Broyles Award goes to the top assistant coach in college football each year. See the 57 outstanding nominees from the 2023 season here.

    The 2023 college football regular season is wrapping up over the next few weeks, which means it’s time for awards. The best coaches in the country have separated themselves from the pack, and the Broyles Award is one way of recognizing these great individuals.

    On Tuesday, 57 nominees were announced. Below is the complete list of nominees.

    2023 Broyles Award Nominees Announced

    The Broyles Award will reveal this year’s semifinalists and finalists in the coming weeks, and the final winner will receive their honor at the December 5th Award Ceremony. Here is the complete list of nominees, in alphabetical order of their program.

    • Brian Knorr, DC, Air Force
    • Tommy Rees, OC/QB, Alabama
    • Frank Ponce, OC/QB, Appalachian State
    • Johnny Nansen, DC, Arizona
    • Brian Ward, DC, Arizona State
    • Travis Williams, DC/LB, Arkansas
    • Aazaar Abdul-Rahim, Co-DC/DB, Boston College
    • Jernargo Gilford, CB, BYU
    • Bryan Brown, Assoc. HC/DC, Cincinnati
    • Wes Goodwin, DC/LB, Clemson
    • James Finley, TE, Colorado State
    • Tyler Santucci, DC/LB, Duke
    • Adam Fuller, DC, Florida State
    • Mike Bobo, OC/QB, Georgia
    • Bryan Ellis, OC/QB, Georgia Southern
    • Buster Faulkner, OC/TE, Georgia Tech
    • Phil Parker, DC/SEC, Iowa
    • Jon Heacock, DC, Iowa State
    • Bryant Haines, DC/LB, James Madison
    • Jim Zebrowski, QB, Kansas
    • Joe Klanderman, DC/SAF, Kansas State
    • Ron English, DC, Louisville
    • Mike Denbrock, OC/TE, LSU
    • Tim Cramsey, OC, Memphis
    • Lance Guidry, DC, Miami
    • Sherrone Moore, OC/OL, Michigan
    • Kevin Peoples, DL/EDGE, Missouri
    • Tony Gibson, DC/LB, NC State
    • Tony White, Assoc. HC/DC, Nebraska
    • Chip Lindsey, OC/QB, North Carolina
    • Drew Svoboda, ST, North Texas
    • Al Golden, DC/LB, Notre Dame
    • Spence Nowinsky, DC/DE, Ohio
    • Jim Knowles, DC/LB, Ohio State
    • Jeff Lebby, OC/QB, Oklahoma
    • Pete Golding, DC/LB, Ole Miss
    • Will Stein, OC, Oregon
    • Jim Michalczik, Assoc. HC/RG/OL, Oregon State
    • Manny Diaz, DC/LB, Penn State
    • Marques Tuiasosopo, OC/QB, Rice
    • Joe Harasymiak, DC, Rutgers
    • Josh Oglesby, OC/RG, San Jose State
    • Scott Symons, DC, SMU
    • Tim Banks, DC, Tennessee
    • Pete Kwiatowski, DC/OL, Texas
    • Jess Loepp, DC/SAF, UTSA
    • Mack Leftwich, OC, Texas State
    • Kenny Perry, Assoc. HC/ST/RB, Texas Tech
    • Mike Hallett, Co-OC/OL, Toledo
    • Shiel Wood, DC/LB, Tulane
    • Alex Mortensen, OC, UAB
    • D’Anton Lynn, DC, UCLA
    • Brennan Marion, OC, UNLV
    • Morgan Scalley, DC/SAF, Utah
    • Kyle Cefalo, Co-OC/WR, Utah State
    • Ryan Grubb, OC/QB, Washington
    • Matt Moore, OL, West Virginia

    MORE: List of Broyles Award Winners by Year

    College Football Transfer Portal Tracker

    Never miss a beat with the CFN-exclusive College Football Transfer Portal Tracker, listing the student-athletes entering and exiting the transfer portal.

    Related Articles