2023 All-Conference USA College Football Preseason Team and Individual Honors

The Preseason 2023 All-Conference USA College Football Honors are headlined by high-flying offenses and some stout defensive players.

Like most conferences this fall, Conference USA play will look a lot different than years past. In our Preseason 2023 All-Conference USA College Football Honors, get to know the names that will be making headlines on Saturdays — and midweek in October — in the C USA.

Follow along with each of our All-Conference honors as well as our National Honors this offseason: All-AmericansAAC | ACC | B1G | Big 12 | Conference USA | MAC |Mountain West | Pac-12 | SEC | Sun BeltFBS Independent

PFN Mock Draft Simulator - Desktop

Preseason Conference USA Football Team Honors for 2023

  • Player of the Year
    Austin Reed, QB, Western Kentucky
  • Offensive Player of the Year
    Malachi Corley, WR, Western Kentucky
  • Defensive Player of the Year
    JaQues Evans, EDGE, Western Kentucky
  • Newcomer of the Year
    Quae Drake, LB, Jacksonville State
  • Coach of the Year
    Tyson Helton, Western Kentucky

Preseason Conference USA Offense

  • Quarterback of the Year
    Austin Reed, QB, Western Kentucky
  • Running Back of the Year
    Marquis Crosby, Louisana Tech
  • Wide Receiver of the Year
    Malachi Corley, Western Kentucky
  • Tight End of the Year
    Josiah Miamen, FIU
  • Offensive Lineman of the Year
    Steven Hubbard, OT, UTEP
  • Offensive Line of the Year
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year
    Hank Bachmeier, QB, Louisiana Tech

Preseason First-Team All-Conference USA Offense

QB: Austin Reed, Western Kentucky
RB: Marquis Crosby, Louisiana Tech
RB: Frank Peasant, Middle Tennessee
WR: Malachi Corley, Western Kentucky
WR: Cyrus Allen, Louisiana Tech
WR: Tyrin Smith, UTEP
TE: Josiah Miamen, FIU
FLEX: Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech
OT: Steven Hubbard, UTEP
G: Quantavious Leslie, Western Kentucky
C: Andrew Meyer, UTEP
G: Elijah Klein, UTEP
OT: Dakota White, Louisiana Tech

Preseason Second-Team All-Conference USA Offense

QB: Hank Bachmeier, Louisiana Tech
RB: Lexington Joseph, FIU
RB: Deion Hankins, UTEP
WR: Michael Mathison, Western Kentucky
WR: Ife Adeyi, Sam Houston
WR: Kris Mitchell, FIU
TE: Sean Brown, Jacksonville State
FLEX: CJ Daniels, Liberty
OT: Sterling Porcher, Middle Tennessee
G: Clay Webb, Jacksonville State
C: Treylen Brown, Jacksonville State
G: Justin Mayers, UTEP
OT: X’Zauvea Gadlin, Liberty

Preseason Third-Team All-Conference USA Offense

QB: Diego Pavia, New Mexico State
RB: Zach Hrbacek, Sam Houston
RB: Anwar Lewis, Jacksonville State
WR: Perry Carter, Jacksonville State
WR: DJ England-Chisolm, Middle Tennessee
WR: Kordell David, New Mexico State
TE: Thomaz Whitford, New Mexico State
FLEX: Noah Frith, Liberty
OT: Zuri Henry, UTEP
G: Vincent Murphy, Western Kentucky
C: Ethan Hagler, Sam Houston
G: Keylan Rutledge, Middle Tennessee
OT: Shiyazh Pete, New Mexico State

Preseason Honorable Mention All-Conference USA Offense

QB: Grant Gunnell, Sam Houston
QB: Zion Webb, Jacksonville State
RB: Quinton Cooley, Liberty
RB: Craig Williams, Louisiana Tech
WR: Marcus Bellon, UTEP
TE: Bentley Hanshaw, Liberty
FLEX: John Bock, FIU
FLEX: Jacob Peace, FIU
OT: Mark Goode, Western Kentucky
G: AJ Vaipulu, New Mexico State
G: Brock Robey, Jacksonville State
C: Abraham Delfin, Louisiana Tech
C: Juius Pierce, Middle Tennessee
G: Mason Williams, Western Kentucky
G: Brendan Schlitter, Liberty
OT: Carson Bruno, Louisiana Tech

Preseason Conference USA Defense

  • Defensive Lineman of the Year
    JaQues Evans, EDGE, Western Kentucky
  • Linebacker of the Year
    Tyrice Knight, UTEP
  • Cornerback of the Year
    Teldrick Ross, Middle Tennessee
  • Safety of the Year
    Tra Fluellen, Middle Tennessee
  • Defensive Line of the Year
    Middle Tennessee
  • Secondary of the Year
    Middle Tennessee
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year
    Quae Drake, LB, Jacksonville State

Preseason First-Team All-Conference USA Defense

EDGE: JaQues Evans, Western Kentucky
EDGE: Praise Amaewhule, UTEP
DT: Marley Cook, MTSU
DT: Keenan Stewart, UTEP
LB: Tyrice Knight, UTEP
LB: Devyn Curtis, MTSU
LB: Donovan Manuel, FIU
CB: Upton Stout, Western Kentucky
CB: Teldrick Ross, MTSU
CB: Willie Roberts, Louisiana Tech
S: Tra Fluellen, MTSU
S: JoJo Evans, FIU
FLEX: Quae Drake, Jacksonville State

Preseason Second-Team All-Conference USA Defense

EDGE: Chris Hardie, Jacksonville State
EDGE: Zayliin Wood, MTSU
DT: Kendy Charles, Liberty
DT: Akeem Smith, Sam Houston
LB: Jeslord Boateng, Louisiana Tech
LB: Kavian Gaither, Sam Houston
LB: Keyshaun Elliot, New Mexico State
CB: Cedric Woods, Louisiana Tech
CB: A.J. Odums, UTEP
CB: Keonte Glinton, New Mexico State
S: Jakobe Thomas, MTSU
S: Rome Weber, Western Kentucky
FLEX: Hezekiah Masses, FIU

Preseason Third-Team All-Conference USA Defense

EDGE: Quindarius Dunningan, MTSU
EDGE: Chike Nwankwo, Liberty
DT: Jordan Branch, MTSU
DT: Sterling Webb, New Mexico State
LB: Brevin Randle, Louisiana Tech
LB: Aakil Washington, Liberty
LB: Hugh Davis, Louisiana Tech
CB: Kobe Singleton, Liberty
CB: Jordan Morris, Sam Houston
CB: Ilijah Johnson, UTEP
S: Quinton Reese, Liberty
S: Myles Heard, Louisiana Tech
FLEX: Kolbi Fuqua, Jacksonville State

Preseason Honorable Mention All-Conference USA Defense

EDGE: Deshon Hall Jr., Louisiana Tech
EDGE: Markel Perry, Sam Houston
EDGE: Alex Nobles, FIU
EDGE: Jaylen Swain, Jacksonville State
DT: Jordan Guerad, FIU
DT: Izaiah Reed, New Mexico State
DT: Terrion Thompson, Western Kentucky
DT: Jack Daly, FIU
LB: Drew Francis, MTSU
LB: Aaron Key, Western Kentucky
LB: Jaylen Phillips, Sam Houston
CB: Jamari Jemison, Jacksonville State
CB: Andre Seldon, New Mexico State
CB: Drew Francis, MTSU
S: Talique Allen, Western Kentucky
S: Kobe Hylton, UTEP
S: Jeremiah Harris, Jacksonville State
S: Cecil Singleton Jr., Louisiana Tech
FLEX: Issiah Nixon, Sam Houston

Preseason Conference USA Special Teams

  • Kicker of the Year
    Zeke Rankin, Middle Tennessee
  • Punter of the Year
    Tom Ellard, Western Kentucky
  • Specialist of the Year
    Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech

Preseason First-Team All-Conference USA Specialists

Kicker: Zeke Rankin, MTSU
Kickoff Specialist: Cory Munson, Western Kentucky
Punter: Tom Ellard, Western Kentucky
Kick Returner: Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech
Punt Returner: Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech
Special Teamer: Larry Worth, Jacksonville State

Preseason Second-Team All-Conference USA Specialists

Kicker: Jacob Barnes, Louisiana Tech
Kickoff Specialist: Lucas Matias, FIU
Punter: Joshua Sloan, UTEP
Kick Returner: Michael Mathison, Western Kentucky
Punt Returner: Malachi Corley, Western Kentucky
Special Teamer: J.J. Dervil, New Mexico State

Preseason Third-Team All-Conference USA Specialists

Kicker: Chase Gabriel, FIU
Kickoff Specialist: Buck Buchanan, Louisiana Tech
Punter: Daton Montiel, FIU
Kick Returner: DJ England-Chisolm, MTSU
Punt Returner: Marcus Bellon, UTEP
Special Teamer: Davion Williams, Western Kentucky

Preseason Honorable Mention All-Conference USA Specialists

Kicker: Ethan Albertson, New Mexico State
Kickoff Specialist: Scott Payne, MTSU
Punter: Buck Buchanan, Louisiana Tech
Kick Returner: Michael Pettway, Jacksonville State
Punt Returner: Zach Hrbacek, Sam Houston
Special Teamer: Deonte Stanley, MTSU

Congratulations to all those players selected. For any questions regarding these selections or the process behind them, feel free to email them to me or ask on Twitter (@CamMellor).